Miklós Lukács:


Miklós Lukács is one of the most well-known and many-sided cimbalom players today. His unique style is inspired by contemporary classical music; roots music from his native Hungary as well as the Balkans; and, last but not least, jazz.

He has played together with world-famous jazz performers; Charles Lloyd, Archie Shepp, Chris Potter, Steve Coleman, Herbie Mann, Uri Caine, Chico Freeman – to name a few. He has excelled within this genre on an international level, and also made his mark in the contemporary classical scene.

Presenting the works of Péter Eötvös composed for cimbalom, Lukács has played solo in several renowned orchestras (Orhestre de la Suisse Romande, the BBC Symphony Orhestra, RAI National Symphony Orchestra, the Warsaw Philharmonic, the Hamburg Philharmonic State Orchestra, the ORF Symphony Orchestra, etc.), Orquestra Sinfónica do Porto Casa da Música (2014), the Cologne Ensemble Musicfabrik (2014).

The respectable stages of Covent Garden, Royal Albert Hall, the Barbican Center, Carnegie Hall, Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Casa da Música, Mozarteum in Salzburg, the Opera houses in Lyon and Bordeaux all welcomed Lukács, and he performed at the Yehudi Menuhin Festival, the Warsaw Autumn Festival, the London Jazz Festival, as well as the jazz festivals of Ljubljana and Cork.

Apart from playing in various Hungarian ensembles, he set up a quintet of his own in 2006 (Lukács Miklós Quintet). Lukács Miklós Trio – Cimbiózis has featured as an exciting and unique voice in the world of jazz ever since.

Miklós Lukács has been active as a composer too, music for plays, chamber orchestra, solo pieces and concertos for cimbalom make up his noted work.

Since 2001 Miklós Lukács has taught at the Talentum Dance and Music School, and became an instructor and the head of the cimbalom department at Snétberger Music Talent Center in 2011.

Numerous Hungarian awards bespeak his achievements:
Artisjus-award in 2000 and 2009 (music composer prise)
Award for the Hungarian Arts in 2011
Aegon Arts Award in 2011

More information: www.mikloslukacs.com (with videos and audios)